Under-17 European Championships Preview

Sixteen teams and their representatives have made home on the complex in Pomorie, a small town located on a rocky peninsula in Burgas Bay, for the youth tournament that has doubled in size from the contest that England won on penalties in Malta just 12 months ago. The country they defeated in that cruel shootout was Maarten Steklenburg’s Dutch side. The Jong Oranje enter the campaign looking to clinch their third championship at this age group to go alongside they trophies from the 2011 and 2012 tournaments.

Maarten Stekelenburg has selected his 18-man squad for the UEFA Under-17 European Championships which begins tomorrow night in Bulgaria. The Jong Oranje first game comes on Thursday night against the Republic of Ireland before heading to face the defending champions England on Sunday. Their third Group D encounter occurs on Wednesday against Italy.



1. Justin Bijlow (Excelsior)

16. Thijmen Nijhuis (FC Utrecht)


2. Giovaani Troupee (FC Utrecht)

3. Timothy Fosu-Mensah (Manchester United)

4. Mats Knoester (Feyenoord)

5. Rick van Drongelen (Sparta Rotterdam)

13. Sherel Floranus (Sparta Rotterdam)


6. Reda Boultam (Ajax)

8. Carel Eiting (Ajax)

10. Teun Bijleveld (Ajax)

12. Dani di Wit (Ajax)

14. Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax)

15. Mink Peeters (Real Madrid)


7. Rashaan Fernandes (Feyenoord)

9. Nigel Robertha (Feyenoord)

11. Javairo Dilrosun (Manchester City)

17. Jay-Roy Grot (NEC Nijmegen)

18. Donyell Malen (Ajax).


Click the name above to follow Will on Twitter.

TotalDutchFootball.com    WorldFootballWeekly.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.