NEWS: De Boer is ‘Coach of the Year’

Championship winning manager Frank De Boer of Ajax has been awarded the Rinus Michels Award for being voted ‘Coach of the Year’.

The Rinus Michels Award is an annual prize in Dutch football and is supported by the official football coaches union (“Coaches Betaald Voetbal”). The award is named after Rinus Michels, who was named ‘Coach of the Century’ by FIFA in 1999.

De Boer wins the award for the first time in his coaching career, fending off last years winner Feyenoord’s Ronald Koeman, PEC Zwolle’s Art Langeler, Vitesse’s Fred Rutten and FC Utrecht’s Jan Wouters.

De Boer adding more trophies to his vast collection

No-one can deny De Boer of the award, who has guided Ajax to their, and his third Eredivisie championship in a row.

Oranje coach Louis van Gaal picked up the ‘Oeuvre’ award, which congratulates a coach for their career, while Marcel Groninger of Be Quick 1887 won ‘Best Amateur Coach’.

Finally, Feyenoord won the ‘Best Dutch Youth Academy’ award for fourth straight season. An academy which has produced such talent as Stefan de Vrij, Jordy Clasie, Tonny Vilhena, Jean Paul Boetius and Bruno Martins Indi over the past few years.



Click the name above to follow Will on Twitter.


One thought on “NEWS: De Boer is ‘Coach of the Year’”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.