Feyenoord are one of Holland’s biggest three clubs.  They have never been relegated are known as the people’s club.  They are based in Rotterdam and play their football at De Kuip stadium. The fans are known as Het Legioen and are the most vocal, loyal and passionate in Holland.

This summer has seen the departure of several big names – Bruno Martins Indi, Graziano Pellè, Daryl Janmaat and coach Ronald Koeman.  New coach Fred Rutten will look to make sound acquisitions, follow the good work of Koeman and look to Feyenoord’s award winning Varkenwood youth academy to fill those gaps and challenge for the Eredivisie title, KNVB Cup and Champions League.

Feyenoord’s Varkenwood youth academy since 2009 has been voted the best in the Netherlands.  The club contributed more players to the Dutch 2014 World Cup squad than any other team. The CIES Football Observatory in Switzerland placed Feyenoord as the world number one team in player development for the tournament.


1 Erwin Mulder 03/03/89 GK 2015
2 Luke Wilkshire 02/01/81 RB 2015
3 Stefan de Vrij 05/02/92 CB 2015
4 Joris Mathijsen 05/04/80 CB 2015
5 Terence Kongolo 14/02/94 CB 2016
6 Jordy Clasie 27/06/91 CM 2016
7 Jean-Paul Boëtius 22/03/94 LW/RW 2016
8 Ruud Vormer 11/05/88 CM 2015
10 Lex Immers 08/06/86 AM 2016
11 Wesley Verhoek 25/09/86 RW/LW/ST 2016
13 Ronald Graafland 30/04/79 GK 2015
14 Bilal Basaçikoglu 26/03/95 LW 2018
16 Warner Hahn 15/06/92 GK 2017
17 Elvis Manu 13/08/93 ST 2015
18 Miquel Nelom 22/09/90 LB 2015
19 Mitchell te Vrede 07/08/91 ST 2016
20 John Goossens 25/07/88 LW 2016
21 Tonny Vilhena 03/01/95 AM 2016
22 Sven van Beek 28/07/94 RB/CB 2015
23 Khalid Boulahrouz 28/12/81 CB 2015
24 Matthew Steenvoorden 09/01/93 CB/DM 2015
25 Lucas Woudenberg 25/04/94 LB 2015
26 Rick Karsdorp 11/02/95 AM 2015
27 Ruben Schaken 03/04/82 RW 2015
29 Anass Achahbar 13/01/94 ST 2015
30 Joey Sleegers 20/07/94 AM 2016
31 Wessel Dammers 01/03/95 ST 2015
35 Rodney Lopes Cabral 28/01/95 RB 2015


Fred Rutten Giovanni van Bronckhorst Jean-Paul van Gastel Martin van Geel


De Kuip (51,177)


WEBSITE: Feyenoord.nl




Along with having been awarded the Rinus Michel Award for the last five years for having the best youth system and academy in Holland, Feyenoord have won 14 Eredivisie championships, 11 KNVB Bekers and 2 Johan Cruyff Schaals domestically.

Internationally, Feyenoord have won the single European Cup in 1970 along with two UEFA Cups (1974, 2002), three Intertoto Cups (1967, 1968, 1973), one Intercontinental Cup (1970), two Benelux Cups (1958, 1959) and one Amsterdam Tournament in 1983. In 1970, Feyenoord became the first Dutch club to win the European Cup and the Intercontinental Cup.

Famous names from Feyenoord’s past include Coen Moulijn, Rinus Israel, Ove Kindvall, Johan Cruyff, Ruud Gullit, Ernst Happel, Wim Van Hanegem, Wim Jansen, Peter Houtman, Bert Van Marwijk and Leo Beenhakker.


Last updated 31/7/14

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.