NEWS: Van Gaal calls up new blood for Oranje

Netherlands coach Louis van Gaal has included four newcomers and recalled Everton’s veteran defender John Heitinga, when naming his 21-man squad on Wednesday afternoon. The Oranje travel to Asia for friendly internationals against Indonesia and China.

Oranje coach Louis van Gaal giving four newcomers a chance to make an impression for future squads

Van Gaal is without 12 regulars in his squad as they have been called up to the Dutch Under-21 squad to play in the UEFA Under-21 European Championships in June in Israel. Heracles Almelo midfielder Lerin Duarte, Feyenoord left-back Miquel Nelom, Swansea City defender Dwight Tiendalli and Utrecht midfielder Jens Toornstra have been selected as the Netherlands play Indonesia in Jakarta on June 7 before they travel to Beijing to face China four days later.

English Premier League club Swansea (managed by Michael Laudrup) have three players in the 21-man squad with goalkeeper Michel Vorm, midfielder Jonathan De Guzman (on-loan from Villarreal) and uncapped Tiendalli all been included.

Ajax reserve goalkeeper Jasper Cillessen, also uncapped is part of the squad as well. However, for Cillessen it was not his first call-up, because he also was part of the Dutch team which played internationals in Brazil and Uruguay in 2011. The Ajax goalie is replacing usual Dutch number one, Tim Krul of Newcastle United who is recovering from a dislocated shoulder. The injury is due to keep the Magpie’s ‘keeper out of action until September after his recent surgery to correct the problem.

The Dutch squad for the Asia trip is not the strongest possible, because the Dutch Football Association (the KNVB) preferred all eligible players to play at the European U21 Championships from June 5 to June 18 in Israel. Luuk de Jong, Jordy Clasie, Kevin Strootman, Stefan de Vrij, Bruno Martins Indi and Adam Maher are all part of the Under 21 set-up.

Van Gaal has called up experienced stars like captain Wesley Sneijder, Robin van Persie, Dirk Kuyt, Rafael van der Vaart and Arjen Robben for the trip to Asia.


Full Netherlands Squad to play Indonesia and China

Goalkeepers: Jasper Cillessen (Ajax), Kenneth Vermeer (Ajax), Michel Vorm (Swansea City)

Defenders: John Heitinga (Everton), Daryl Janmaat (Feyenoord), Miquel Nelom(Feyenoord),Erik Pieters (PSV), Dwight Tiendalli (Swansea City), Ron Vlaar (AstonVilla)

Midfielders: Lerin Duarte (Heracles Almelo), Jonathan de Guzman (S wansea City), Siem de Jong (Ajax), Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Jens Toornstra (FC Utrecht), Rafaelvan der Vaart (Hamburg)

Forwards: Dirk Kuyt (Fenerbahce), Jeremain Lens (PSV), Robin van Persie (Manchester United), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich), Ruben Schaken (Feyenoord),Ricky van Wolfswinkel (Sporting Lisbon/Norwich City)



Click the name above to follow Will on Twitter.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.